Pa.’s Fitzpatrick votes with Dems to condemn Trump’s tweets on Ocasio-Cortez, minority women in Congress

WASHINGTON — Bucks County U.S. Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick stuck to his maverick guns on Tuesday night, splitting with his fellow Republicans to vote with the U.S. House’s Democratic majority to condemn President Donald Trump’s “racist comments directed at Members of Congress.” 

The resolution passed the chamber by a vote of 240-187, with three other Republicans and one independent joining Fitzpatrick and their Democratic colleagues in publicly condemning Trump after he suggested that four Democratic congresswomen “go back” to the “places from which they came.” 

Trump’s comments — which targeted Democratic Reps. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York, Ilhan Omar of Minnesota, Rashida Tlaib of Michigan, and Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts — have dominated the political discourse on Capitol Hill this week. Democrats have overwhelmingly excoriated the president, while many Republicans have defended him or sought to avoid the issue. 

With their silence on ‘The Squad,’ Republicans are complicit in Trump’s racism | John L. Micek

The resolution, a stinging rebuke against the president, states that the House “strongly condemns President Donald Trump’s racist comments that have legitimized and increased fear and hatred of new Americans and people of color by saying that our fellow Americans who are immigrants, and those who may look to the President like immigrants, should ‘go back’ to other countries.” 

The other House Republicans who broke ranks with their party were Reps. Susan Brooks of Indiana, Will Hurd of Texas, and Fred Upton of Michigan. Justin Amash, a Michigan independent who recently abandoned the GOP, also voted in favor of the resolution. 

Here’s how the rest of Pennsylvania’s delegation voted on the resolution:


U.S. Rep. Mike Fitzpatrick, R-1st District

U.S. Rep. Brendan Boyle, D-2nd District

U.S. Rep. Dwight Evans, D-3rd District

U.S. Rep. Madeleine Dean. D-4th District

U.S. Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon, D-5th District

U.S. Rep. Chrissy Houlahan, D-6th District

U.S. Rep. Susan Wild, D-7th District

U.S. Rep. Matt Cartwright D-8th District

U.S. Rep. Conor Lamb, D-17th District

U.S. Rep. Mike Doyle, D-18th District


U.S. Rep. Dan Meuser, R-9th District

U.S. Rep. Scott Perry, R-10th District

U.S. Rep. Lloyd Smucker, R-11th District

U.S. Rep. Fred Keller, R-12th District

U.S. Rep. John Joyce, R-13th District

U.S. Rep. Guy Reschenthaler, R-14th District

U.S. Rep. Glenn “GT” Thompson, R-15th District

U.S. Rep. Mike Kelly, R-16th District

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.