The Lead

Waxman wins Democratic primary for Philadelphia’s 182nd House District seat

By: - May 18, 2022 11:38 am

Three of the four candidates for Philadelphia’s 182nd House District: Jonathan Lovitz, Deja Lynn Alvarez, and Ben Waxman (Philadelphia Gay News photo collage).

Benjamin Waxman, a former journalist turned political activist, has won the Democratic primary for the Philadelphia-based 182nd House District, a seat currently held by state Rep., and failed lieutenant governor hopeful, Brian Sims.

Waxman captured 40.97 percent of the vote, according to unofficial results, beating out Democratic challengers Will Gross, Deja Alvarez, and Jonathan Lovitz.

In the race to fill his seat, Sims endorsed Alvarez, director of community engagement for World Healthcare Infrastructures and the LGBTQ care coordinator for the Philadelphia Department of Public Health.

Waxman will face Republican candidate Albert Robles Montas, a Philadelphia attorney who ran uncontested in the GOP primary, in the November general election. 

Waxman previously ran for the 182nd House seat in 2016.

Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.